The action taken when a user interacts with an ad by either clicking on it with their mouse or by pressing enter on their keyboard.
The number of times
an ad has been served, regardless of whether the user has actually seen or interacted with the ad in any way. (Also see: Ad Serving)
A vendor that connects advertisers to publishers. Ad networks act as a single point of contact between publishers and advertisers, helping negotiate supply and demand.
Delivering ads to a pre-selected audience based on various attributes, such as geography, demographics, psychographics, web browsing behavior, and past purchases.
plugin installed in a user’s browser, which prevents certain Ads from being displayed.
is the one who pays the money to get his advertisements shown.
Publishers have websites that get traffic and advertisers want to promote their products to the people who visit those websites. Affiliate marketing is an agreement between a publisher and an advertiser where the publisher receives compensation for every click delivered and/or every sale made of the advertiser’s product or service.
This is an analogue of push notifications for iOS devices. New, fresh, juicy format
with high eCPM rate.
Click-through Rate (CTR):
Expressed as a percentage of total impressions, this statistic shows how often people who are served an ad end up clicking on it. An ad’s CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks an ad received by the number of times it’s been served, then converting that into a percentage. For example, if an ad received 5 clicks and was shown 1000 times, the CTR is 0.5%. The higher the CTR on an ad, the better it’s performing.
Expressed as a percentage, a conversion rate is calculated by dividing the number of views or visits by the number of form fills.
When launching a campaign, advertisers select a specific action or set of actions they want audiences to take. Each time a member of the audience takes this action, it is counted as a conversion. Conversions include actions such as signing up for a registration, app installation, service subscription, newsletter or making a purchase on a website.
Information stored on a website visitor’s browser. A cookie tracks the visitor’s movement on the website and is used to remember the visitor’s behavior and preferences. These do not transfer across browsers.
Cost per Click (CPC):
How much an advertiser pays, on average, for each ad click. CPC is calculated by dividing the total amount spent on a campaign by the number of clicks generated.
Cost per Lead (CPL):
How much an advertiser pays, on average, for each lead conversion. CPL is calculated by dividing the total amount spent on a campaign by the number of leads generated.
Cost per Thousand (CPM):
Metric that shows how much it costs to serve 1,000 ad impressions. Also used as a standard measure for buying display ads, as inventory is generally sold on a CPM basis.
the percentage of clicks vs impressions on an ad within a specific page.
Lead: A potential customer. In digital advertising, a lead is someone who has given you their contact information, often by signing up for a newsletter or filling out a form to download an eBook or other gated content.
Pay-Per-Click (PPC): Pricing model where advertisers pay vendors or publishers based on the number of clicks received in a campaign.
An ad format that displays in a new browser window behind the current browser window.
The one who gets money for showing the ads on his website.
This is one of the best formats to monetize traffic. Available for desktop and Android devices. Ad messages delivered to subscribed users even if they are not browsing the website.
is the process of converting existing traffic being sent to a particular website into revenue. Ad networks facilitate a webmaster in placing advertisements on pages of the website to benefit from the traffic the site is experiencing.
RevShare or Revenue Share:
With RevShare your income directly depends on the performance of your (subscription) base.
Example: a user once logs into a dashboard and subscribes to receive push notifications on your website or landing page. Over time, we will show this user 100 different ads, 100 clicks will be generated. You will receive payment for these impressions. The more quality impressions you get, the more money you get.
With this model, you’re working for the future. As long as your subscription base is alive and breathing, you’ll be getting paid for it. Affiliates with a single landing page can decide to move to another vertical and webmasters can switch to a different advertising format, and even in that case, your previous efforts will still be paying off.
It allows you to assess the quality of your traffic as its performance directly affects your income.
technology protocol or mechanism for automatically bidding, buying, and selling display impressions via an auction format.